I didn’t want to be behind in our son’s fashion, so I did something about it! hahaha  A few weeks ago, I was asking my husband about if he liked this for the baby and that-mostly fashion tips..and he was like…I don’t know…I’m not really the one to ask….My response was…good thing I’m his mom!

I got a few hand me downs from my sister in law…who has a girl, but there were a few gender neutral things in there!  I had wanted a tye dye onesie…and came across this one! My husband had a mint green button up shirt with cool surf patches that he took from his parents’ house and wanted to reuse them somehow.  So, I was going to put them on his clothes somewhere, but they ended up on these hand me down onesies!

Image

As I mentioned earlier how great hand me downs are, here are some more hand me downs that had not all that great embroidery done on the front.  These two shirts-the beatles and a matsumotos shaved ice t shirt were too small for me to wear…in fact the matsumotos was a kids size shirt…I haven’t been able to fit in a kids’ size shirt since like college!  So i covered the embroidery and made the onesies fantastic again!  For those who make it to oahu…matsumotos is on the north shore close to the dole plantation-both two MUST SEE/VISIT places if you make it out there!

 

 

 

 

Image

I also had several band shirts that I don’t wear anymore…I have too many band shirts!  We inherited over two full boxes of black tie suicide shirts…which have reduced to less than one box now…I traced a onesie that I was given and figured out too late that the necklines were messed up.  I fixed the pattern now, but here are the ways I altered them so that it would be ok.

 

 

 

 

Image

I added what looks like dinsoaur plate but then realized it wasn’t enough.  But since I couldn’t take them off without unstitching the sleeve, I just left them and added more to the neckline.  The cadillacs and dinosaurs was a t shirt my brother made for them and I drew the dinosaur with the cadillac! 

 

 

Image

 

Here is a civilian and avenue of the giants t shirt made into onesies.  They are sleeveless as it gets blazing hot here in the summer!  At first, the avenue of the giants onesies neckline was made from the armhole of the shirt…the design was on the side.  Then I realized…the neckline was too big!

 

Image

Here’s a close up of the altered neckline on the civilian onesie.

 

 

 

 

Image

I have also come to realize how much i love the onesies with the shorts instead of the ones  that go up like a diaper!  Anyhow, here’s the last shirt-young widows-that stopped fitting me long ago hahaha!  This is the biggest onesie I made.  They range from 0-3 mos to 1 year!

 

Image

I have more t-shirts, but am still trying to figure out how to go about the design….they are a spock, mastadon, and other t shirts that have slipped my mind at the moment.  In the meantime, I am currently working on other projects.  Sometimes when I get stuck, it helps to step away from it and then pick it up again later….

