First I’d like to say thank you to the person who suggested I add a donate here button! I have added a link to donate to my paypal under the blogroll links. It says “donate here.”

A while ago, I found a simple recipe on pinterest for homemade peanut butter cups…So i looked it up and it was quite easy and very tasty!

DSC_0183

The pinterest recipe I used was taken from here.

When making, I decided to try and stick to the recipe exactly how it was…..but then…the peanut butter mixture hardened a little while the first layer was freezing. So, I added double the butter and melted it again. It wasn’t too bad, except that it made the peanut butter layer too soft-or it is a soft layer anyway. So the next time I make this, or when you make this, I strongly recommend making the chocolate into a ganache to match the level of softness. Otherwise the chocolate layers are very hard to bite into.

To make a chocolate ganache, simply add 1 parts milk, evaporated milk or heavy cream to 3 or even 4 parts chocolate. The more milk you add, the softer it will be. To add just a little softness, just do the 1:4 ratio.

DSC_0184

The next treat lined up was also inspired by pinterest! I needed a quick and easy dessert to make for a get together and my sister in law had just given me a load of apples that could not be consumed quickly enough. So, I started to look for apple pies baked in their own skin….but then I decided I didn’t want to bother with the pie crust at all….

DSC_0555

So here’s what I did: I hulled out apples and made an apple crisp. Apple crisp is easy and simple and fast! I used the recipe from better homes and gardens. I also changed this one! I added a 1/2 cup of honey and didn’t bother adding any other sugars at all. I also added a little bit more oats and flour since my apples were a little more than called for (a cup over the recipe).

20130213-013432.jpg

I hulled out the apples by cutting them in half. Then, I cut out the seeds and middle. I used my metal strawberry huller to take out the apple guts. It was quite simple and was easier than most people think! Hehe Before I put it in the oven, I drizzled honey generously over the whole thing.

I put the apple guts into a bowl and when I was done hulling I mixed in the ingredients. I covered it with foil and baked at about 350 for 40 min. Then, I took off the foil and cooked for another 10-20 min. I hulled at least 10 apples, so if you make less than that, make sure to keep an eye on it so it doesn’t burn!

DSC_0559

Enjoy!

